Quick Nav

Mackie Award

History/Background on The Mackie Award


J. Brandon (Mackie) Maxwell Jr., an ardent supporter of Immaculata High School.

Mackie volunteered his time to just about anything and everything Immaculata. He was especially interested in supporting Immaculata’s athletics program.  For more than 30 years, Mackie and his friends - Joe Simmons, Barney Sloan, Rudy Pernini, Pierce Frauenheim Sr., and others - spent countless hours in support of the Immaculata community. When “Coach” suggested that a universal gym would be a great addition to our athletics program, Mackie and his buddies collected a few dollars from everyone that they knew, traveled into New York City for the purchase, and then returned to set up the new equipment.

Co-owner of a local Raritan New Jersey restaurant from 1962 until 1993 with his wife Stephanie, and his parents and brothers, he hired innumerable IHS students to work in the kitchen; for many, it was their first job. And, when these former or current workers came of legal age, it was to the Old York Inn that most of them went to have their first celebratory “birthday toast."

During the years that Mackie’s children attended Immaculata and for many years after, Mackie ran and supported the concession stand for all home football games, from supplying the food and supplies together with Joe Colalillo Sr., to cooking and cleaning up afterward. 

Even after Mackie’s 3 children graduated from IHS, he still continued to attend baseball, softball, basketball, and football games; he loved high school sports and rooting for Immaculata’s student-athletes.

At the inaugural 2008 Immaculata Golf Classic, Mackie was honored for his countless years of service to our school and the larger school community. Regrettably, he passed away unexpectedly just a few months later in August 2008. Thereafter, the award was renamed the Mackie Award in his memory.

Past Mackie Award Recipients

2008 J. Brandon "Mackie" Maxwell, Jr.*
2009 Frederic and Darlene Sterritt
2010 Pierce Frauenheim, Sr.
2011 Michael Vecchio*
2012 Art and Helen Sanford and the Campus Ministry Staff
2013 Tom Gambino
2014 Joe Servedio
2015 John J. Cust '97
2016 Ken Greig '83
2017 Linda Piscadlo '78
2018 Tony Petto
2019 Dan and Nancy Bonham
2020 Rich Dupras, Jr. '78
2021 Mike Sperduto
2022 Brian and Maureen Cote

* Deceased